All users in a RADAR workspace have a role. The very first user, i.e. the person who registers the workspace, is assigned the role of an Owner automatically. Everyone else is granted a role when they're invited to join the system by one of the Owners.
Workspace Owners alone have the authority to grant and remove various types of global access by making the appropriate changes in user profiles. Users in other roles have no control over the role assigned to them or others.
However, to meet the security and access requirements of any organization, some viewing and editing rights can be provided through groups and on a per-project basis.
By sharing a view with a group, all users in the group can be given the same permission to view or edit the view, irrespective of the privileges associated with their role. On a project level, a user with somewhat limited Reporter rights can be authorized, for example, to edit a project that had been added by another user.
This way, the same user can be given different permissions in different projects or for different views without having to completely override their global access rights.