Create a user group

A group is a number of users defined together because, for instance, they share the same responsibility for projects, perform a similar function in the organization, or should be equally aware of the latest project updates. Groups are an easy way to grant access or editing rights for a view to all such users at once.
For Reporters and Viewers, permissions granted on a group level will overwrite system permissions associated with their role.
Note
To create a group:
  1. Click the settings icon.
  2. Go to User Management.
  3. Click Create group.
  4. In the right-side panel, enter the group name. A group's name doesn't have to be unique, but it helps when it is.
  5. Optional: To make it easier for yourself and other users to recognize the group, click on the default cover image and browse your computer for one that better illustrates the purpose of the group.
  6. Optional: Сlick in the Members field to search for and select the users you'd like to add. If you want your group to consist of all workspace users, click Add all users instead.
  7. Click Create.
Once the group is created, it appears on the list of groups a view can be shared with and is visible to all users who have the right to share.
You can easily refer to a group in any of your projects or status reports. Just add the Single group or Multiple groups field to the form and then set the group as the field's value.
Tip

Edit a group

You can change the group's attributes and composition at any time. However, renaming the group and replacing the associated image should be approached with caution, because it is only by name and image that other users can identify the group in the workspace.
To edit a group:
  1. Сlick the settings icon.
  2. Go to User Management.
  3. Click on the group's cover image to open the right-side panel. From here, you can replace the image, edit a group's name, add or remove a group's members.
  4. When you are done with the necessary changes, click Save.
Users do not receive notifications when they are added or removed from a group, so you can manage the composition of the group in accordance with the requirements of your organization.
Note

Delete a group

Deleting a group is an irreversible action and one that requires careful consideration. When you delete a user group, all references to that group are permanently erased from the system, including those in projects and status reports, even if the latter had already been released.
To delete a group:
  1. Click the settings icon.
  2. Go to User Management.
  3. Locate the group and click the three dots menu.
  4. Select Delete.
  5. When asked to confirm the action, once again click Delete.
As soon as a group is deleted, its members immediately lose all access and editing permissions that have been associated with being in the group. But the action does not result in the deletion of the users themselves.
Note
Was this article helpful? Tell us what you think
Share your thoughts
Submit your question