Project actions

There are a few actions available in RADAR that you can apply to a project as a whole.
Skip ahead to:

Change project state

Every project in the workspace has a state assigned to it. A project can be Active, Inactive, or Archived. The state affects whether or not the project can be updated, reported on, or is visible in views.

A project's current state is indicated in the project's preview and profile and can be changed from within both areas.
To change the state of a project:
  1. Click on a project in the list.
  2. In the right panel, click the current project's state.
  3. Select the new project state from the drop-down menu.
Once the state is changed, the project will be moved to the list of projects on the relevant tab.
Changing the state of a project only affects what users can and cannot do with it and has no impact on the project's content.
Note
The difference between active and inactive projects is that the latter cannot be modified. In other words, changing the state of a project to Inactive suspends the ability to add new status updates and makes it impossible to edit the data stored in the project fields.

Archiving, in turn, not only makes the project inaccessible for editing but also prevents it from being displayed in views.

You can archive and restore projects at any time, provided that there are enough project slots on your subscription plan for all active and inactive items. A project restored from the Archived state will be brought back unchanged and with all its original content.

Clone your project

The cloning action allows you to quickly create a duplicate of an existing project that has the same structure as the original project, all the same properties that determine what users can do with it in the system, and contains almost all the same information.

This is a useful alternative to adding a project manually, especially if the new project is going to differ from the older only slightly.
To clone a project:
  1. Click on a project in the list.
  2. In the project preview, click the three dots.
  3. Select Clone.
  4. Edit the project title to make it differ from the title of the source project.
  5. Optional: If you want to include a copy of attached documents or to retain the project connections, select the relevant checkbox.
  6. Click Clone.
A clone project is automatically added to the list of projects on the tab that contains the original project.
A clone project is a separate entity from the original project, so it doesn't inherit the original project's history of changes, past status reports, user permissions to view or edit, and is not automatically included in any views. For the same reason, none of the actions that you can apply to either one of these projects will affect the other.
Note

Delete a project

Deleting a project makes it permanently unavailable for all users of the workspace and cannot be undone.
To delete a project:
  1. Click on a project in the list to open the project preview or go to the project profile.
  2. In the right panel, click the three dots icon.
  3. Select Delete.
  4. When asked to confirm the action, once again click Delete.
It is advised to resort to deleting a project only if absolutely sure that the action will not do any harm, for instance, when it is known that the project was added by mistake. If there is any likelihood that someone may want to keep the project, it is best to stick to the archiving option.

Bulk actions

It is possible to archive and delete a number projects at once.
To archive several projects:
  1. In the project list, click the checkboxes to select the projects.
  2. Click the Archive icon.
All selected projects will be moved to the Archived tab.
To delete several projects:
  1. In the project list, click the checkboxes to select the projects.
  2. Click the Delete icon.
  3. When asked to confirm the action, once again click Delete.
Was this article helpful? Tell us what you think
Share your thoughts
Submit your question